Thread: Anglican chanting Board: Oblivion / Ship of Fools.

To visit this thread, use this URL:
http://forum.ship-of-fools.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=70;t=025873

Posted by Ton Meijer (# 17757) on :

Since I am very new to the ship, this may not be the right place for my message. In which case I humbly pray for forgiveness..

On several occasions I have heard Anglican psalm chanting where I tried later on to find out what chant it was. Since there appears to be no simple way, I decided to start compiling an overal melodic index. So far I have included only a few books, but work is going on to get as many possible. If you are interested in Anglican Chanting, you may want to have a look at my site: www.anglicanchant.nl

BTW three days after the site went online I got a message from a lady who had been looking for a chant for years and now finally located it...

Posted by dj_ordinaire (# 4643) on :

Ooh, that's very a very interesting project now. I especially like the layout of the chart with the different intervals on the cadences made clear.

Oh, and... very welcome to the Ship by the way! Hope you hang around and explore a few of our other discussions [Smile]

dj_ordinaire, Eccles host

Posted by AndyB (# 10186) on :

The most recent edition (the third) of the Irish Chant Book has been out of print since the late 1980s, but it is worth getting if you can.

AndyB, thank you for the suggestion. It is on my list. Unfortunately I can manage only so many chants per day [Hot and Hormonal] But I will certainly try to lay my hands on one

Posted by Morlader (# 16040) on :