Thread: Church Websites Board: Oblivion / Ship of Fools.

To visit this thread, use this URL:
http://forum.ship-of-fools.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=70;t=027296

Posted by Afghan (# 10478) on :

I have recently erred. During our parish church's stewardship drive as well as asking for money they asked us to disclose what talents we might all be willing to 'fess up to. I ill-advisedly put down that I might be able to help with the church website. And nobody else did! I feel like the whole congregation took a step back when the drill sergeant asked for volunteers apart from me. The rector is popping around next week to discuss.

So... I thought now might be a good time to avail myself of the LazyWeb. I am a software developer. I've done webpages before although I'm no web designer or developer. But I'd welcome some advice on a few questions...

Posted by Leorning Cniht (# 17564) on :

quote:
Originally posted by Afghan:
Some sort of regularly updated content seems advisable - it lets potential victims know that the church is active and up to stuff. I can help set up the platform but I probably can't furnish the content. In practice, how hard is it to elicit this sort of thing?

I help to run the website of a small association. We tell the members "send us reports, and we will post them. If you don't do email, hand me a bit of handwritten paper and I'll even type the thing."

Nobody does, so we don't have regularly updated anything.

Don't count on getting anything beyond the bulletin. Assume that you will have to copy and paste.

As far as what is required:

Do, absolutely, ensure that you have a complete and up-to-date listing of all your services, including special services for feast days etc.

Describe a normal Sunday - worship style, liturgy, music, provision for children, coffee afterwards and so on.