Thread: When does a gathering become a 'church'? Board: Oblivion / Ship of Fools.

To visit this thread, use this URL:
http://forum.ship-of-fools.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=70;t=029559

Posted by Birdseye (# 5280) on :

I've been popping in here to these boards on and off for more than 10 years, one year I did secret santa, and another time I met people 'in the real' at a shipmeet - and though I've been busy for a couple of years, I've popped back today and it is full of names I know, which makes me feel like this is probably a church innit?

Anyway - I'm fairly well hooked up with technology one way and another but what I want to know is - how do people actually GATHER these days...? Do they still do it in a way that isn't (to someone) about making or spending money - because I think that's where the church should be looking to do mission and I can't work out where that is now. Or how to help a church become that place and still be appealing... because we are training generations to be consumers and that is mostly what they seem to recognise!

Posted by cliffdweller (# 13338) on :

Sure-- lots of people do that. Have a "home church" of 12-20 that meets in someone's living room, shares leadership and responsibility for teaching/preaching, passes the hat to collect money that goes to the homeless or other ministry everyone cares about. It's a lovely model, a biblical model, and is of course, very much "church."