homepage
  roll on christmas  
click here to find out more about ship of fools click here to sign up for the ship of fools newsletter click here to support ship of fools
community the mystery worshipper gadgets for god caption competition foolishness features ship stuff
discussion boards live chat cafe avatars frequently-asked questions the ten commandments gallery private boards register for the boards

Ship of Fools

Post new thread  Post a reply
My profile login | | Directory | Search | FAQs | Board home
   - Printer-friendly view Next oldest thread   Next newest thread
» Ship of Fools   » Special interest discussion   » Kerygmania   » Where to begin study

- Email this page to a friend or enemy.    
Source: (consider it) Thread: Where to begin study
Unum Solum
Shipmate
# 18904

- Posted      Profile for Unum Solum     Send new private message       Edit/delete post   Reply with quote 
I have always had an unspoken inner dialogue that if money was no object (I work for a living not for fun) then I would like to study the Bible (not sure if that is what it means to study theology).

I love reading and listening for those who are able to decipher things scriptural, rightly or wrongly, and convey it. Now I know that knowing the Bible is not the same as knowing God, but it is a fascinating collection of books.

So while I am not ignorant of the Bible I wonder if anyone would be able to offer some guidance on where to start, given that I am talking about doing this on my own. I bought an ESV study Bible last year, I have the internet, I have no shortage of pencils and paper.

Any thoughts welcome.

--------------------
I will not say do not weep for not all tears are an evil. - Gandalf

Posts: 53 | From: Auckland, New Zealand | Registered: Jan 2018  |  IP: Logged
Eutychus
From the edge
# 3081

- Posted      Profile for Eutychus   Author's homepage     Send new private message       Edit/delete post   Reply with quote