homepage
  roll on christmas  
click here to find out more about ship of fools click here to sign up for the ship of fools newsletter click here to support ship of fools
community the mystery worshipper gadgets for god caption competition foolishness features ship stuff
discussion boards live chat cafe avatars frequently-asked questions the ten commandments gallery private boards register for the boards

Ship of Fools

Post new thread  Post a reply
My profile login | | Directory | Search | FAQs | Board home
   - Printer-friendly view Next oldest thread   Next newest thread
» Ship of Fools   » Special interest discussion   » Ecclesiantics   » New church building

- Email this page to a friend or enemy.    
Source: (consider it) Thread: New church building
HCH
Shipmate
# 14313

- Posted      Profile for HCH   Email HCH   Send new private message       Edit/delete post   Reply with quote 
I am a layman, and I attend a church in a town in the American Midwest. Our building is quite nice and many of us are very fond of it, but it is getting old and the needed repairs would cost more than the building is worth. Accordingly, there is a plan to buy land, erect a new church building and sell the existing building.

A vote is scheduled on this matter a few days from now. I probably will not be voting as there is some technical sense in which I am not a full member. In any case, I think it will be approved, and I see the need (although I do not see how they plan to raise the money).

On the other hand, the site chosen for the new building is about 2.5 miles from my home, and I do not own a car. I'm not sure I will continue at this church if I have to walk for an hour each way, although I do like many of the people.

Am I correct to think that many churches experience similar events? Does this sort of move tend to turn out well?

Posts: 1540 | From: Illinois, USA | Registered: Nov 2008  |  IP: Logged
Gramps49
Shipmate
# 16378