homepage
  roll on christmas  
click here to find out more about ship of fools click here to sign up for the ship of fools newsletter click here to support ship of fools
community the mystery worshipper gadgets for god caption competition foolishness features ship stuff
discussion boards live chat cafe avatars frequently-asked questions the ten commandments gallery private boards register for the boards

Ship of Fools

Post new thread  Post a reply
My profile login | | Directory | Search | FAQs | Board home
   - Printer-friendly view Next oldest thread   Next newest thread
» Ship of Fools   »   » Oblivion   » Community churches

- Email this page to a friend or enemy.    
Source: (consider it) Thread: Community churches
seekingsister
Shipmate
# 17707

- Posted      Profile for seekingsister   Email seekingsister   Send new private message       Edit/delete post   Reply with quote 
Hi everyone! I'm new to the Ship.

I normally worship at an evangelical CofE parish that was a 5 min walk from my old flat. We've moved and it's now a 30 min trip on two trains to get to a Sunday service. I will still attend but I am looking for a local church to alternate Sundays with so I can build Christian friendships with people in my area. Unfortunately there is no Anglican parish of my type anywhere nearby.

We got a flyer stuck in our door from a local "Community Church." They have no denominational affiliation that I can find, but on their website link to several other community churches in the UK. The only hint is that they are run by a group of male elders, which points to some kind of Baptist/Church of Christ similarities perhaps.

So what is a community church? Is it just a non-denominational? Is there any history behind them in the UK as far as practices, origin, theology?

Posts: 1371 | From: London | Registered: May 2013  |  IP: Logged
Custard
Shipmate
# 5402