Thread: Hell: Blast of the Trump Against the Monstrous English Regiment of Evangelical Basher Board: Limbo / Ship of Fools.

To visit this thread, use this URL:
http://forum.ship-of-fools.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=11;t=000082

Posted by scyndan heofon-cyning (# 2943) on :

For a person accustomed to talking about/with Evangelicals and Christians in the US, it's an odd experience reading all the stuff here coming from an assumed English/COE perspective. It all translates pretty well, just slightly out of phase.

And I realize that you're all way more fucked up than we are. I'm a student of early modern English this and that, so I'm often cognizant of the mess of the English church back at its inception. I rarely think about it as it is today at any length except that it's bizarre and clearly going down the crapper. (Which probably means death, rebirth, and survival--such is the nature of most big cultural institutions.)

I also recall finishing my undergrad years and staying in Oxford one summer. Made the mistake of going to some InterVarsity-like event with a Catholic friend. Basically it was a pack of fundamentalists who didn't know shit about their own religious and national past. ALso, they didn't like Catholics. It blew me away. I thought only American Evangelical-Fundamentalists were that stupid. Guess not.

Perhaps the constant bitching about obvious stupidity going down the crapper is rather like a contented turd floating at a distance in the swirl, thinking it's not going to go down, but then...yeah!...it does right at the end with the last gurgle, its trim little tail whisked down the pipe. (An especially common phenomena with English plumbing. Actually flushing twice is the rule, not the exception. Or maybe I just crap bigger 'n you.)

So is there a progressive, prescriptive, less insular faction around these parts?

[ 12. September 2003, 18:58: Message edited by: Erin ]

Posted by sakura (# 1449) on :

Yes there is. A large one.