Thread: Purgatory: The God Particle Board: Limbo / Ship of Fools.

To visit this thread, use this URL:
http://forum.ship-of-fools.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=11;t=001235

Posted by Anglican_Brat (# 12349) on :

Can anyone explain in lay person's terms to me, what's the big deal with the Higgs Boson? I'm not a scientist and scientific jargon goes over my head.

[ 05. January 2015, 21:08: Message edited by: Kelly Alves ]

Posted by orfeo (# 13878) on :

Basically, the existence of the particle is predicted by the main theory that's used to explain how sub-atomic particles behave to create the world as we know it.

Apparently it's the only type of sub-atomic particle which has been predicted but hasn't been observed. If they find it, it's another thumbs up for the theory. On the other hand, if it's proven not to exist, then that common theory has to be thrown out.

EDIT: Apparently, one of the key things it's needed for is to explain why anything has mass!

[ 04. July 2012, 02:56: Message edited by: orfeo ]

Posted by Evensong (# 14696) on :

I don't really get it either. But like orfeo says its a big deal because it could prove existing theoretical frameworks.

Alister McGrath talks about it and its relation to "faith" here.

Like God, it's the best explanation for existing data. But it hasn't been proven yet (or something)

[ 04. July 2012, 03:05: Message edited by: Evensong ]

Posted by no_prophet (# 15560) on :

On the CBC radio, in between tornado warnings and lightening crackles on the drive home tonight, they said it is about a subatomic energy particle that magically (my word) becomes matter. And one of those interviewed said some scientists call it the 'god damn particle' because of the difficulty detecting its one trillionth of second existence.