Thread: Is climate change ruining our food? Board: Purgatory / Ship of Fools.

To visit this thread, use this URL:
http://forum.ship-of-fools.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=2;t=020297

Posted by Ohher (# 18607) on :

I have long pondered the possible connections between widespread obesity in the US and the quality (or lack thereof) of the typical US diet, especially among the less-well-off (do we have to consume way more calories in a desperate effort to obtain actual nutrients?).

Here, however, is an even scarier possibility.

Is global warming (or rather, rising CO2 levels) destroying our food? I'm no scientist, but this strikes me as a real-but-frightening likelihood.

Posted by simontoad (# 18096) on :

link not working for me, but I thought the issue was corn syrup.

Posted by lilBuddha (# 14333) on :

Proper link

Posted by Martin60 (# 368) on :

Proper bollocks: tl;dr.

Put a NUMBER on it.

Posted by Jane R (# 331) on :

You want numbers? Here you go. Not much use being able to produce food if there's noone alive to eat it.

However, the good news is that birds can survive much higher wet-bulb temperatures than mammals can. So it looks like the dinosaurs will inherit the earth.

[ 14. September 2017, 10:09: Message edited by: Jane R ]

Posted by Rocinante (# 18541) on :

It's starting to become apparent that climate change will significantly reduce the human population in various ways. Drought and reduction of land available for cultivation, reduction in crop yields, "tropical" diseases becoming endemic in the whole population, emergent viruses, flooding and other natural disasters, or just being cooked to death. Birds, reptiles and insects will be fine, in fact they'll love it. Us and the other mammals, not so much.

To quote Craven in "Edge of Darkness"*: "If it comes down to a fight between us and the planet, my money's on the planet."

*The original 1985 TV series, not the execrable Mel Gibson vehicle feature film