Thread: Jesus at the Pearly Gates Board: The Laugh Judgment / Ship of Fools.

To visit this thread, use this URL:
http://forum.ship-of-fools.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=61;t=000036

Posted by Simon (# 1) on :

Joke submitted by Kitten:

St Peter decides to take the day off to go fishing, so Jesus offers to keep an eye on the Pearly Gates. He is not sure what to do, so Peter tells him to find out a bit about people as they arrive in Heaven, and this will help him decide if he can let them in.

After a while, Jesus sees a little old man with white hair approaching who looks very, very familiar. He asks the old man to tell him about himself. The old man says, "I had a very sad life. I was a carpenter and had a son who I lost at a relatively young age, and although he was not my natural child, I loved him dearly."

Jesus welled up with emotion. He threw his arms around the old man and cried, "Daddy!"

The old man replied, "Pinocchio?"

[ 13. July 2005, 11:01: Message edited by: Simon ]

Posted by The Coot (# 220) on :

This is a very non-offensive version (there other version mentioning the marks of the crucifixion) and I was surprised to find it still works - actually more cleverly too I think, because of the mention of 'not my natural child'. Probably too subtle for the non-Xtian now that the Xtian story is largely unknown in our culture. I think the juxtaposition of Jesus and Pinocchio - as dissimilar as one can get (let's face it, Pinocchio and anyone for that matter) and the unexpected use of the criteria to apply to Pinocchio - is what does it.

Still enjoyable even though already heard.

Posted by Marquis (# 9750) on :

Excellent joke. Funny and totally good natured. I wish I could remember these kind of jokes.

Posted by TrudyTrudy (I say unto you) (# 5647) on :

It's been years, but I still love this joke.

Posted by ChastMastr (# 716) on :