Thread: RCL and the C of E Board: Ecclesiantics / Ship of Fools.

To visit this thread, use this URL:
http://forum.ship-of-fools.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=6;t=008516

Posted by leo (# 1458) on :

I have just wasted half a morning adjusting reading and preaching rotas etc. After some clever clogs pointed out a discrepancy which I have been perpetuating for at least 12 years e.g. Oct 22 has Isaiah 4:1n 5-6 whereas the C of E had Isaiah 45:1-7

It seems to me that the shorter passage is more likely to get people’s attention – why must the C of E tinker with an internationally agreed lecionary?

Posted by Ecclesiastical Flip-flop (# 10745) on :

I don’t know the answer to the example you give from Isaiah; but what I do know is that some parts of the C of E include the Apocrypha and other parts of the C of E exclude it. That factor alone would invite variation, for starters.

Posted by balaam (# 4543) on :

Interpretation of the following varies:
quote:
39 Articles
And the other Books (as Hierome saith) the Church doth read for example of life and instruction of manners; but yet doth it not apply them to establish any doctrine; such are these following...

Plus most other Protestant churches would not have readings from the Apocrypha/Deuterocanonical books. Having a lectionary acceptable to all is always going to be a bit of a compromise.

Posted by John Holding (# 158) on :

There are several versions of the RCL aproved for use in North America, largely the same but with (sometimes inexplicable) differences. The RC, the Episcopal, the ACC, the Lutherans and at least some version of Methodists/UCC all have customized lectionaries. It's not the CofE -- it's everyone.

John

Posted by Arethosemyfeet (# 17047) on :

quote:
Originally posted by balaam:
Interpretation of the following varies:
quote:
39 Articles