Thread: Young members of synod? Board: Oblivion / Ship of Fools.

To visit this thread, use this URL:
http://forum.ship-of-fools.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=70;t=027054

Posted by ExclamationMark (# 14715) on :

As requested by Hosts concerned comment posted here from All Saints

quote:
Originally posted by The Weeder:
To give you the background. I am a Licensed Lay Minister and although I am very new to the Church, I am known, as I live in the Parish. The Vicer also knows me from a project we worked on back in the day.

The lad is new, but eager. I will be looking after him- taking him to meetings, helping him to understand what is going on.

I see it all as very positive.

All well and good but ...

1. From a Safeguarding point of view I have serious concerns about you taking him if you are travelling alone. I'm also concerned that he is being placed in a situation where he will either be ignored or treated as a "trophy": neither of those are acceptable and constitute inappropriate behaviour.

2. It still doesn't answer the question why a church has nominated a 14 year old to Synod. Not only is it daft - just what will he think/do - it's also proscribed under the legislation.

Spike did enquire as to your location? is it possible to know by PM where this has happened?

However well the Vicar knows you what on earth is a church doing in electing someone who's only been a few weeks and presumably isn't even on the electoral roll? You both may have changed since "back in the day" [Whatever that ghastly phrase means ...]

[edited thread title for clarity. Again]

[ 14. April 2014, 11:28: Message edited by: Eutychus ]

Sorry! Missed link to OP

http://forum.ship-of-fools.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic&f=4&t=005802#000026

In response to SvitlanaV2's comments on the All Saints thread ...

Yes some 14 year olds get involved in leading etc. but in their own church and under supervision of SS/youth leaders.