Thread: White wine Board: Oblivion / Ship of Fools.

To visit this thread, use this URL:
http://forum.ship-of-fools.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=70;t=027822

Posted by EtymologicalEvangelical (# 15091) on :

I am a complete newbie on this board, so if this subject has been "done to death" already somewhere, then please direct me to the discussion.

I attended the morning eucharist at London's St Paul's Cathedral last Sunday week (3rd Nov.) - (yes, I know, I was just trying to get in without paying the exorbitant entrance fee! [Mad] ) - and I was rather puzzled to see that they used white communion wine. I must admit that I found this rather disconcerting, and in my many decades of receiving communion, I have never before encountered this.

Is this right??

It certainly didn't feel right to me. Any thoughts on this?

Posted by Pigwidgeon (# 10192) on :

I've heard it called "The Plasma of Christ."

The only thing going for it is that it's easier to wash out of the Altar linens.

Posted by The Phantom Flan Flinger (# 8891) on :

Communion bread (be it in the form of a wafer, or a piece torn from a crusty cob) doesn't really resemble the body, so I've not got a huge problem with wine not resembling blood.

Posted by Basilica (# 16965) on :

I'm sure this has been discussed on this board before, but I can't immediately find a source for it.

First off, I have personally never encountered white communion wine. I have, however, regularly encountered amber communion wine. In fact, it is frequently used in many Church of England parishes, particularly of a more Anglo-Catholic persuasion. I imagine it is used in other churches as well, but have never experienced this personally.

As a few examples, see these links: