Thread: Leaving an old job, starting a new. Board: Oblivion / Ship of Fools.

To visit this thread, use this URL:
http://forum.ship-of-fools.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=70;t=028243

Posted by Cameron PM (# 18142) on :

Currently I am the organist at a parish that places itself in the Anglican "continuum", one that I can say with confidence is a mixture of High Church and Wesleyan theology. I'm not signed on to serve a specific length of time, nor am I a member of their denomination.

I have an offer on hold to assume the position of organist and choir director at a parish in a town only a 20 minute drive away, for better pay, more smells and bells, and to boot, a regular parish under Canterbury.

I'm only a student as it stands, and I've never been faced with having to resign from a position. Does anyone on the Ship have any advice they can give me so as to not burn any bridges and break the news easily to the current parish?

Posted by Baptist Trainfan (# 15128) on :

It's never easy (nor is it for Ministers/Vicars who are thinking of moving).

I was wondering how well you know your present incumbent, and if you get on well with him/her. If you do, and you know that s/the is discreet and sensible, would it be possible to talk through the situation "off the record" and see what response or advice you receive?

I think the worst thing you can do is just to suddenly announce, "Oh. by the way, I'm leaving next week". That is bound to cause bad feeling.

Posted by Albertus (# 13356) on :