Thread: Volunteering Board: Oblivion / Ship of Fools.

To visit this thread, use this URL:
http://forum.ship-of-fools.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=70;t=030601

Posted by Boogie (# 13538) on :

Are you a volunteer?

What do you do?

Do you enjoy it?

I raise pups for Guide Dogs and I'm a 'My Guide' for blind and VI people who are not able to have a dog. I love every minute.

If you'd like a new way to volunteer at I recommend this app - called BeSpecular, it's great! It uses audio and text to describe photos for blind and VI people. I've described food cartons, fun photos, shirts and many other things. Enjoyable for the sighted person and useful for the VI person.

BeSpecular

Posted by jacobsen (# 14998) on :

I was a street pastor until the hips made 4-6 hours' walking slowly on city streets too painful. Also, the 20+ mile drive home after 3 AM as a bit much. So I sought a more sedentary way of contributing.

Posted by Sarasa (# 12271) on :

I volunteer in our local charity bookshop. Yes, I enjoy it as it keeps my librarian's skills going and it's teaching me new ones, such as using electronic tills.
They are also a very nice bunch of people to work with, and I enjoy chatting to the customers too.

Posted by Uncle Pete (# 10422) on :

In my early retirement, I volunteered as an Elder reader, reading with exceptional and later special needs kids. During that same period I also volunteered (and still do volunteer) with my local Scouting groups. Received my 30 year pin last year. Next up (if I'm spared) will be 35 years in 2020.No longer work with kids but I am fairly active behind the scenes.

Posted by Piglet (# 11803) on :