Thread: What are we going to eat tonight? Board: Oblivion / Ship of Fools.

To visit this thread, use this URL:
http://forum.ship-of-fools.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=70;t=026821

Posted by Gracious rebel (# 3523) on :

I heard an interesting snippet on the radio the other day. Apparently, on any given weekday between 3pm and 5pm, 30% of people (or was it households?) have no idea what they are going to be eating for their meal that evening. In other words, a significant proportion of the population do not really do meal planning.

I find this weird, as I am one of those people who can normally not only tell you what is on the menu for tonight, but also a rough idea for the next few days. But then I am one of life's planners. My partner finds my detailed approach to forthcoming arrangements (not just meals, but speaking more generally) somewhat infuriating at times.

When I was a student, I lived with someone even more rigid than myself. On a Saturday morning we would sit down with a piece of paper, decide on meals each day for the forthcoming week, then do the bulk of the shopping that day, a week in advance. This is seriously unusual I know, especially for students! But it helps to make sure you don't waste food by buying things that then get forgotten at the back of the fridge and go out of date before you have eaten them!

I do like to make sure leftovers, and food approaching 'use by' dates, gets consumed in a timely manner. So that's probably the driver behind my meal planning now - an awareness of what needs eating, or what we fancy, or something that would go with something else we have left over, then prepare or buy the necessary bits a day or two in advance, or on the same day. But almost without fail, by 3-5pm, I DO know what meals I will be preparing that day.

What other approaches do people take? Do you make an effort (like me) specifically not to waste food? Are there other drivers that determine your eating habits?